IFAC & Congress Awards

IFAC Awards at Opening Ceremony

Giorgio Quazza Medal to Prof. Graham Goodwin Nathaniel B. Nichols Medal to Prof. Gerd Hirzinger

In addition, IFAC advisors will be appointed during this ceremony.

Date July 6 (Sun)
Time 17:30 - 18:30
Location Auditorium, 3rd Floor

IFAC Journal Awards

Automatica Prize Paper Award
Control Engineering Practice Prize Paper Award

Journal of Process Control Prize Paper Award

Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence Prize Paper Award

Mechatronics Journal Prize Paper Award

Date July 8 (Tue) Time 18:30 - 19:30

Location Room 402, Conference Center, 4th Floor

IFAC Fellow Award

Fellows elected in 2008.

Bittanti, Sergio | Braatz, Richard | Camacho, Eduardo | Cao, Xi-Ren | Cassandras, Christos | Chai, Tian-You | Cheng, Dai-Zhan | Edgar, Thomas | Gottzein, Eveline | Haddad, Abraham | Krstic, Miroslav | Kurzhanski, Alexander | Lewis, Frank | Morari, Manfred | Safonov, Michael | Vicino, Antonio

Date July 10 (Thu) Time 18:30 - 19:30

Location Room 401, Conference Center, 4th Floor

Congress Awards at Closing Ceremony

IFAC Congress Young Author Prize

This prize consists of a certificate and a monetary award of USD 1,000. The criteria include high technical quality and good presentation of results. All authors must be under 35 years of age. Final Candidates:

- Mamoun Abdel-Hafez,
 - The Autocovariance Least Squares Technique for GPS Interference/Jamming Detection, WeB13.2
- Takenori Atsumi, Disturbance Suppression beyond Nyquist Frequency in Hard Disk Drives, MoA21.2
- Lachlan Blackhall & Michael Rotkowitz,
 - Recursive Sparse Estimation using a Gaussian Sum Filter, WeC09.4
- Marcello Colledani, Integrated Analysis of Quality and Production Logistics Performance in Asynchronous Manufacturing Lines, WeA24.6
- Tao Li, Asymptotically Unbiased Average Consensus Under Measurement Noises and Fixed Topologies, MoC13.4

IFAC Congress Application Paper Prize

This prize consists of a certificate and a monetary award of USD 1,000. The criteria include high technical quality and good presentation of the results in the area of control applications.

Final Candidates:

- Takenori Atsumi, Disturbance Suppression beyond Nyquist Frequency in Hard Disk Drives, MoA21.2
- Christian Benatzky, Martin Kozek, Alexander Schirrer, & Anton Stribersky, Vibration Damping of a Flexible Car Body Structure Using Piezo-Stack Actuators, WeA 22.3
- Emery N. Brown, Ming Cheng, Emad Eskandar, Sridevi V. Sarma, & Ziv Williams, Modeling Neural Spiking Activity in the Sub-Thalamic Nucleus of Parkinson's Patients and Healthy Primates. WeB 15.5
- Tianyou Chai, Jinliang Ding, & Fenghua Wu, Hybrid Intelligent Control for Optimal Operation of Shaft Furnace Process. MoB 26.6
- Tomohiko Jimbo & Yoshikazu Hayakawa, Physical-Model-Based Control of Engine Cold Start via Role State Variables. MoA 28.1

IFAC Congress Poster Paper Prize

This prize consists of a certificate and a monetary award of USD 1,000. The criteria for the selection of the recipient include high technical quality of the paper, and overall presentation.

Best Video Award

This prize consists of a certificate and a monetary award of USD 1,000. A selection committee will nominate candidates for the award recipient. The criteria for the selection of the recipient include high technical relevance, quality, contributions, and video and audio quality of the work.

Date July 11 (Fri)
Time 16:30 - 18:00
Location Auditorium, 3rd Floor

Outstanding Service Award

The 2008 Outstanding Service Award will be presented to IFAC officials who have served and contributed substantially to IFAC in various capacities, based on a criterion set by the Council. The award consists of a certificate and a lapel pin will be presented to the candidates during the IFAC World Congress.